New skateboard deck finished!

“Cosmic Love”
acrylic and pencil on 8″ Canadian maple / 2011

Finished my very first skateboard deck EVER. This was quite a learning experience for me, never having worked on such a shape or material. It’s solid Canadian maple and it’s surprisingly forgiving for pencil but really wants nothing to do with wet media. It took a lot of babying and ibuprofen to get through the wet acrylic section of the figure, but it was worth it as I got to keep the sketchy pencil outlines that I wanted to keep so badly. Do wet media again though? …When I’m feeling more adventurous and masochistic.

Have some work in progress shots!

This half-painted stage I actually like better than the finished product, personally.

This deck will be shown and available for purchase at the Granite Skate indoor skate park in Nashua, NH on Sept 10th, then at the Steez Gallery from the 11th til the end of the month! I’ll be posting more about the upcoming show as soon as I know more information.

Peace out!

Leave a comment